Alan Vega protégés The Vacant Lots are an NYC-via-Vermont duo comprised of Jared Artaud and Brian MacFadyen. Their minimalist-yet-primitive rock’n’roll and sprawling psychedelic drones have seen them pick up international acclaim and go on to collaborate with an impressive roster of underground music royalty – their debut album alone seeing them team up with Vega, Anton Newcombe of Brian Jonestown MassacreSonic Boom of Spacemen 3/Spectrum and Dean Wareham of Galaxie 500 – all of which the band happened to have toured with too.

That debut was 2014’s ‘Departure’ – originally released via Sonic Cathedral, the record was was mixed and mastered by Sonic Boom and featured guest guitars from Wareham. ‘Departure’ was what kick-started it all and now, following a previous partnership with the band for a split 10” with Vega, London imprint Fuzz Club are delighted to be reissuing the album with added remixes from Anton Newcombe and Vega. 

On ‘Departure’, The Vacant Lots deliver a primal hit of darkly hypnotic rock’n’roll with a repetitive and minimalist proto-punk gusto – reflecting back on the album it’s pretty easy to see why the duo went on to become so revered and their debut cemented as a landmark release in modern psychedelic music.

We’ll be reissuing the album as a double LP. The standard edition (/500) comes on 180gm vinyl, black one side and white on the other, and the deluxe (/100) comes on ultra-clear vinyl. Both editions come in a gatefold sleeve with printed inner-sleeves. Buy the LP here!