The Oscillation

The Oscillation was formed in London in 2006 by Demian Castellanos. The first single “New Way To Feel” was released in January 2006 on Bee And Smoke records as a 7″ single and was picked as single of the week by Rough Trade. This incarnation of The Oscillation was intended as an outlet for more rockier ventures alongside other projects going in different directions. An e.p on Static Caravan surfaced, under the name of Mesma, while on J.Saul Kane’s DC Recordings, yet another project began as The Orichalc Phase. “Respond In Silence” was the first e.p followed by the “Violations” e.p in October 2006, mixed with Tim Holmes at The Contino Rooms. The Orichalc Phase became the main focus, incorporating influences from punk funk disco, krautrock and psychedelia with danceable rhythms, repetitive angular avant guitar noises inspired by Loop, and layers of analogue synthesizers. The Oscillation and Mesma faded into the background for the time being.
The debut album on DC Recordings, “Out Of Phase” was released on 15th October to universally good reviews In 2007 featuring Tim Weller and Matt Scott on studio drum duties, to take a confusing twist, the name was changed to The Oscillation for its release.
A live band was formed to coincide with the record with Tom Relleen on bass guitar, Mark Thomas on keys and Jon Abbey on drums, along with Julian Hand providing a retina destroying light show using projectors, slides and oil paints. The band continued playing numerous shows, refining their live sound and building a reputation for inventive reinterpretation of the recorded songs along the way, supporting the likes of Silver Apples, Beak, Zombie Zombie, Disappears, Wooden Shjps, Dead Skeletons and Deerhunter.


All Time Low

Hands In The Dark

Fuzz Club