Suicide Squeeze

Death Valley Girls - Darkness Rains

Regular Price
Sale Price
Regular Price
Sold Out
Unit Price
translation missing: en.general.accessibility.unit_price_separator 
Tax included.

Limited Edition LP Pressing On Translucent Red W/ Black Splatter Vinyl, limited to 1500 copies. LP includes a DL & initial pressing also includes a folded 11.7” X 16.5” poster World Tour Kicks Off October 3rd.

At the core of Death Valley Girls, vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Bonnie Bloomgarden and guitarist Larry Schemel channel a modern spin on Funhouse’s sonic exorcisms, ZZ Top’s desert-blasted riffage, and Sabbath’s occult menace. On their third album Darkness Rains, Death Valley Girls churn out the hypercharged scuzzy rock every generation yearns for, but there is a more subversive force percolating beneath the surface that imbues the band with an exhilarating cosmic energy.

Album opener “More Dead” is a rousing wake up call, with a hypnotic guitar riff and an intoxicating blown-out solo underscoring Bloomgarden’s proclamation that you’re “more dead than alive.” The pace builds with “(One Less Thing) Before I Die”, a distillate of Detroit’s proto-punk sound. At track three, Death Valley Girls hit their stride with “Disaster (Is What We’re After)”, a rager that takes the most boisterous moments off Exile On Main Street and injects it with Zeppelin’s devil’s-note blues.

Darkness Rains retains its intoxicating convocations across ten tracks, climaxing with the hypnotic guitar drones and cult-like chants of “TV In Jail On Mars.” “Death Valley Girls are a gift to the world.” - Iggy Pop 

Tracklisting 1. More Dead 2. (One Less Thing) Before I Die 3. Disaster (Is What We’re After) 4. Unzip Your Forehead 5. Wear Black 6. Abre Camino 7. Born Again and Again 8. Street Justice 9. Occupation: Ghost Writer 10. TV in Jail on Mars