Influences: Flying Moon In Space on the music that shaped their self-titled debut

Flying Moon In Space talk us through some of the songs that influenced their new album and share 30+ song playlist


Ahead of the release of their incoming self-titled debut album, we asked Flying Moon In Space to put together a playlist of songs that inspired the new record. Below you’ll find the band talk through ten particularly influential songs from the playlist, including the likes of A Place To Bury Strangers, Vanishing Twin and Camera by way of electronic collective Holy Fuck, techno producer Anetha and the mind-altering IDM of Lorn. The full 30+ song playlist can be found at the bottom of the article. 

On December 4th, the Leipzig, Germany-based seven-piece will release their first full-length, an intoxicating blend of vivid psych-pop, driving krautrock jams and club-ready techno sensibilities. You can find out more about the band in a short interview here, pre-order the album here and check out their latest single, ‘Faces’, below. Talking about the track, Flying Moon In Space said: “Some know the secret and only share it when the music’s on. The beat hits and we all win. You can see it on their faces, the vibing (e)motion sets them free. One could theorize that dance can heal all diseases, but who’s to say? All we know is the joy it brings when we play.”



Holy Fuck - ‘Shivering’ (Henrik Rohde, guitar)

“It’s my favorite song since I first heard it in 2016 or so. I can’t get over it and listen to it all the time. Our guitarist Valentin just played cover of it a few days ago on my birthday. Everyone knows it’s my favorite song. The whole track gives me a wonderful feeling of joy and happiness. It appears constantly adding up new layers in different costumes of psychedelic sounds and when the beats get straight everything comes together in a huge wave of pure happiness. And it stays interesting with every layer added. A beautiful crescendo in just one direction. On one hand quite exalted and pure but furthermore there is a melancholic touch, i think.”  



Anetha - ‘Acid Train’ and John Wick - ‘Acid Train’ (Sebastian Derksen, guitar)

“When we are on tour and fortune makes it possible for us Timo and me are always up for a DJ set as ‘Doppelter Empfänger’, which turned out to be some rather dark and fast techno sets. We had some really funny moments with that already. Here a couple of tracks that would definitely be considered play through the venues! (A lot of acid in there for starters…)”


Vanishing Twin - 'Who Wants To Live Forever?' (Sascha Neubert, bass)

“I really like this song for all its sounds, its repetition and its abstract atmosphere. Also that it’s really long and never-ending. It definitely opens the door to the jammy sound approach we tend to work with as well."


Radiohead - 'Everything In Its Right Place' (Adam Parks, vocalist)

“Smooth decadence cascading in computer breath. I stay there with a kiss of life. It gives and gives until it quits.”


Аигел - ‘Две Недели’ [AIGEL - 'Two Weeks'] (Timo Lexau, drums)

“Аигел was my personal musical discovery in 2020. The duo consists of Russian Tatar poet and incredibly talented lyricist Aigel Gaysina and Ilya Baramiya, an audio engineer from St. Petersburg who came in touch with electronic music in the 90s. Together they create a dark, haunting sound with minimalistic beats and astonishing poetic texts. The video to their song 'dve nedeli' (two weeks) leaves a dismal impression of Russian prison. Their videos to 'Tatarin', 'You're Born', 'Sneg' and 'Chiotkiy' are cinematic delicacies!”


Warpaint - ‘Composure’ (Jos Schön, guitar) 

“Warpaint and their mesmerising songs were always a big influence on me as a guitar player in general and specifically for our album too. For us as a band creating songs based on long improvised jam sessions with four guitars requires a creative and well selected use of melodies and pedals that summon up to an integral sound, instead of just being a wall of chaos. Warpaint masters that perfectly in their arrangements. They are full of overlayering melodies and rhythms, so that there is always something new to discover (no matter how many times one already listened to the songs) but it is never too excessive or stressful.”


Camera - ‘Fröhlichkeit’ (Henrik Rohde, guitar)

“Another all time favorite song of mine. I really like the whole atmosphere of every single instrument in the whole track. It has such wonderful never-ending melody lines over the complete track, and magical bassline. This one has the charm of a never-ending track which makes it really cool to listen to it on a loop. After a few times you don’t know where is the end or the start. This track really makes me feel happy.”


Lorn - Acid Rain (Adam Parks, vocalist)

“The mystery is in the tone where truth lies uninterpreted, coasting the moment like kaleidoscopic forgotten dreams, pounding the senses with an eardrum beat for 3 days then its over. You can sleep again tomorrow when the song fades with your memory.” 


A Place To Bury Strangers - ‘It Is Nothing’ (Timo Lexau, drums)

“'It Is Nothing' was the first song that introduced me to A Place To Bury Strangers. Simultaneously it drove my interest in music into a whole new direction. I remember seeing them live for the first time in 2009 in Hamburg and entering an entire new realm, I was stunned by their extraordinary performance both physically and emotionally. 'Exploding Head' turned 11 last month and still has a special place in my record collection.”


Dua Saleh - ‘Umbrellar’  (Jos Schön, guitar) 

“A big current inspiration for me is Dua Saleh, especially their album ROSETTA, which I’ve listened to endlessly in the last weeks. Poetic lyrics transported through their touching voice combined with versatile music production elements like impelling beats, fragmented sounds, analogue instruments, catchy melodies, atmospheric ambient synth lines, as well as autotune pop melodies create a new ingenious and exceptional sound. Leaves me addicted and with one of their songs stuck in my head every day.”

Full Playlist:

The Men - New York City

Regular Price
from £8.99
Sale Price
from £8.99
Regular Price
Unit Price
Translation missing: en.general.accessibility.unit_price_separator 

Subscribe To Newsletter