The Spyrals release 'Don't Turn Me Down'

LA group share the latest cut to be lifted from their fourth full-length, 'Same Old Line', out on Fuzz Club next week


Los Angeles-based garage-blues group The Spyrals are today sharing ‘Don’t Turn Me Down’, the latest track to be lifted from the ‘Same Old Line’ LP that’s due out a week today! A defiant, overdriven ode to “trying to stay positive when obstacles seem to keep coming in the way”, you can stream ‘Don’t Turn Me Down’ below.

Taking cues from The Velvet Underground, 13th Floor Elevators and The Stooges by way of Neil Young, Bob Dylan and Muddy Waters, as the latest cut – arriving off the back of 'There's A Feeling' and the album's title-track – the record sees the band carve out eight songs of raw, back-to-basics rock’n’roll that marries white-knuckle garage-blues, psychedelic repetition and sun-baked alt-country to create “something new with an old soul”.


Armed with a guitar, harmonica and fuzz pedal, band-leader Jeff Lewis formed The Spyrals when he was living in San Francisco in the early 2010s. Now, though, he’s based in Los Angeles and finds himself backed by a new line-up of musicians. ‘Same Old Line’ was cooked up in new drummer Dash Borinstein’s garage and recorded over the course of a few days and nights straight to a Tascam tape machine.


Jeff recalls: “This is the first album recorded with a new lineup after I moved from San Francisco to Los Angeles. At the time of recording we werenʼt sure if this would be a Spyrals album or something under a different name. At some point during the mixing process I decided to keep moving on under the Spyrals name, so to me this album is a real turning point in the band’s history.” You can pre-order the new album on vinyl, CD and tape here.